Well folks, today is the day. The day everyone has been tirelessly waiting for and some dreading. Today is the day the United States gains a new leader, a new advocate, and begins a new path. This day, being my first election day that I can vote, is a hard day. A troubling, confusing, and messed up day. I see two candidates that I really do not like. One essentially hates women, and the other, being a woman, is not who I would expect as our first woman president. I have friends and family voting for both, arguments getting sparked all over my Facebook, and hate just flowing through the veins of so many people.

I woke up today wanting to be excited to vote. I think so many people feel the same way. But how can I possibly be excited to vote when up until I fill out that ballot, I will have no idea who I am going to vote for. Seeing all of the hate that is going around today on social media and TV, makes me not want to vote. For me, that is not morally an option though. I have been asking the man upstairs for guidance, but have been left in silence. Which honestly, I do not blame Him for that.

So on this day, that is supposed to be filled with hope, excitement, ambition, and  courage, I pray. I pray for the candidate that wins. I pray for my friends and family. I pray for peace. I pray that nothing negative happens after the votes have been revealed. I pray for this country. I love this country, but this country needs help. It needs love and peace. It needs a true leader. So regardless of what happens today, I pray you accept it and do not resent it. I pray that everyone gets behind the person this country decided to elect, regardless of if it is who you voted for. Because we, as a nation, need to come together in times like these. We need to come together in times where it is so easy to fall apart and hate. Martin Luther King Jr. once said, “We must learn to live together as brothers or perish together as fools”, and I could not agree more.

On this day, I challenge you to have hope. I challenge you to love. Today will be one of the most memorable days in history, and it will also be one of the most trying days. Today it will be hard to love one another, but it is with that act of kindness that we will succeed and grow as one. Challenge yourself today to love everyone and get behind the new president. Because as Americans, that is what we do. That is what we should be proud to do. Today is the day we either grow as one, or crumble as millions.

