This is one loaded topic that has been on my mind recently. Why? Well it is simple. I am a 20-year-old college student that is surrounded by clusters of feminists and clusters of the anti-feminists and then people who just do not care to even take a side. As a woman, I feel like I need to hear out the feminist views. You know, support the people supporting women. This interesting culture has been way more prevalent since the election season has been upon us. A woman, running against a man, that pretty much despises women for all we know.  If you did not know what feminism was before this election, I am sure you do now. But the question in my head is, are people feminists? Or are people defensive?

This is even a question for me because of things I have seen and heard around my campus. Girls all of a sudden getting upset when a man opens the door for her, or is a gentlemen in any way.  Or when a girl opens the door and no one says “thank you”, the explanation is, “it is probably because I am a girl”.  The one that gets me the most is, “I am only going to graduate college because I am a woman, and I want to prove people wrong.”

I grew up basically being raised by my hard-working mother. So naturally, I tend to just assume to do things on my own and not worry about someone doing it for me. Now, when a man wants to open my door, or carry my groceries, or help me with my car, I am not going to take it personally or say, “he’s just helping because I am a woman and thinks I can’t do it”.  When talking to girls around campus about their views on this topic, the responses were very interesting. For the scenario I just listed, most of the girls that identified themselves as feminists, would take all of that personally just because of their gender. So what is actually the deal? How did the idea of a man being a gentlemen, get lost in this messed up feminist wave?  All of a sudden, if I let a man open my door, I cannot even consider being a feminist.

Yes, I hate the pay gap between genders. Yes, I hate that a man would most likely get a job over me because he is a man. Yes, I hate ALL of the gender discrimination that goes on every single day. Yes, I feel like I can say I am a feminist, or even just slightly feminist. But I am beginning to think that the “feminism” I identify with, is the same feminism that started in the 1850’s. I will be a voice for equal pay, and an end to gender discrimination. What I won’t be a voice for is for men to stop being gentlemen. These poor men are being raised to take care of women and be respectful. Yet all the women see is how disrespectful and insulting it is. Because that makes sense right?!

So basically my message to everyone is, re-evaluate whether you are actually a feminist…or if you are just jumping on the band wagon but are actually being defensive. Basically ask yourself this, are you going to vote for Hillary Clinton JUST because she is a woman and you feel like your vote is proving a point?  If the answer is yes, I am going to assume you are not actually a feminist, you are a defense. This whole defensive thing needs to stop because honestly, I feel like it is making us women, look rather dumb. 

“Feminism is not a dirty word. It does not mean you hate men, it does not mean you hate girls that have nice legs and a tan, and it does not mean you are a ‘bitch’ or ‘dyke’, it means you believe in equality” ~Kate Nash

